Development of Languages

In India, the following schemes are being run by the Government all over the country for the development of languages:     

1.       Central Hindi Directorate (CHD), is a subordinate office responsible to  promote and propagate Hindi and to develop it as a link language throughout India in pursuance of Article 351 of the Constitution of India. The Directorate implements the  schemes of publication of bilingual/trilingual dictionaries, correspondence courses, awards to Hindi writers, extension services and programmes, Hindi through cassettes etc

2.       Commission for Scientific and Technical Terminology(CSTT),  is a subordinate office established as per the recommendation of a Committee constituted under the provisions of Clause (4) of Article 344 of the Constitution. The Commission is engaged  in the task of evolving technical terms in Hindi and Indian languages, producing of University level books, definitional  dictionaries and various reference literatures.

3.       Kendriya Hindi Sansthan (KHS), a fully funded autonomous organization  responsible for the propagation and expansion of the use of Hindi and its  teaching in non-Hindi States through training of  in-service Hindi teachers.

4.       National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language (NCPUL), a fully funded autonomous organization to promote Urdu Language.

5.       National Council for Promotion of Sindhi Language (NCPSL),  to develop, promote and propagate the Sindhi language.

6.       Central Institute of Indian Languages(CIIL), a subordinate office to help evolve/implement the Language Policy of Government  of India and coordinate the development of Indian languages by conducting research in the areas of language analysis, language pedagogy, language technique  and language use in society.

7.       Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan  (RSkS), a Deemed University(with 10 Campuses)  with the objectives of preserving, propagating and modernizing traditional learning and research in Sanskrit.

8.       Maharishi Sandipani Rashtriya Ved Vidya Pratishthan (MSRVVP), Ujjain an autonomous organization established for the preservation, conservation and development of Vedic Studies through establishing and supporting Ved Pathshalas.

9.       The Scheme of  "Appointment of Language Teachers" provides 100% grant to State Governments for three distinct components i.e. 

(a)     Salaries for Hindi Teachers in schools in non-Hindi speaking states. 

(b)     Salaries of Urdu Teachers in State Government schools in those blocks/districts that have a significant educationally backward minority/ population. 

(c)     Under the Modern Indian Language component, salaries are born for any teacher of any of the languages listed in the 8th schedule of the Constitution (other than the mother tongue/official language/first language of the State) that is taught as the third language. 

This is a demand  driven scheme and funds are released on the basis of requirements projected by the State Governments.

10. Development of Classical Tamil Language.  The scheme includes the following  components.

(a)            Certificate of honour to distinguished scholars of Classical Tamil Language.

(b)            Tamil Language Promotion Board.

(c)            Centre of Excellence for Development of Classical Tamil Language at Central Institute of Indian Languages, Mysore.

(d)            Fellowships for study of Tamil as a Classical Language.


The Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India handles above work.

No comments: